Dividing the Year into 13 monthly Revolutions

Happy New Year!

I have not blogged for a while. I felt the need to let the material I presented here to play a little in our heads and to actually incorporate the material in our astrological practice.

I have studied late medieval and early Renaissance astrology in the previous month due to the need of an investigation of a more practical approach in my astrology. I was particularly interested in learning more about the Solar Revolutions, and while I was studying Abu Ma’shar’s On Solar Revolutions I felt the need to see those principles applied in actual prognosis.

I like the predictive art, and being practical astrologer dealing with clients, I want to get better and better in actual prediction and not merely astrological researching or theorizing. When you have a client, all they ask (many of them) is “what to expect from the year in front of me”. This is the answer most often asked from astrologer. The other question which is also very often asked is “When will I marry” and “When will I have children” et cetera. Very rarely you would be asked to delineate a chart from a Spiritual Astrology perspective [though this kind of question is not excluded also].

So, when you deal with clients you want to be able to predict. They don’t want to know where Masha’allah and Umar disagree or whether I use whole-signs or alcabitius divisions. They want to know “what to expect from life and particularly from the following year”.

For getting better in this I throw my eye in the Renaissance Astrologers like: Regiomontanus, Schoener, Cardan, Morinus and Gauricus. I found that Google Books contains good deal of these books in Latin language, which sparked my enthusiasm for learning even more.

What I found in reading those authors is that they are practical embodiment of the Perso-Arabian astrology. They learned those principles and incorporated them in their astrological practice.

In particular, when I investigated their Solar Revolutions practice, I also found that they [especially Gauricus and Schoener] use monthly revolutions which I never used or even heard before. That is, dividing the year into 13 monthly revolutions.

Now, I have heard and I have used 13 monthly profections in a year. Morinus software luckily, has that option incorporated in it; but I have never used those 13 monthly revolutions in a year, so when I started using them I found that they are very, very useful and precise in life description of the actual month.

Divisions of monthly profections in a year by 13

Now, if you press Ctrl in Morinus software and then press F7 while holding Ctrl (Ctrl + F7) you would calculate the monthly profections in a successive row of life years. Then if you press the year in question with left mouse click, an option would ask you if you want monthly profections by 12 or 13. You will click 13 and then Morinus software will calculate the division of the year by 13 monthly profections.

I use those profections and I found them very useful and precise!

In the analysis of the Three Annual Horoscopes for Ferdinand I, Gauricus used the Lord of the Monthly Profections and [lord of the sign of the monthly profections] and delineated its state in the monthly revolutions of the type of which we are speaking here.

Dividing the Year into 13 monthly Revolutions

Usual monthly revolutions we use today are so called “Lunar Returns” in which the chart was drawn for every successive month when Moon comes exactly at the position she had in the nativity.

But Ptolemy’s [or pseudo-Ptolemy] Centiloquium [aphorism 87], and especially the comment of Haly ibn-Ridwan speaks about another kind of monthly revolutions:

Tempus mutationis signorum in revolutione ex parte signi profectionis sunt XXVIII dies et due hore: et XVIII minuta unius hore fere. Ex parte autem ascendenti hemisperio seu in oriente XXVIII dies: et quinta diei fere mensis vero solaris est a mutatione solis de gradu in quo fuerit nativitas in gradu sibi consimilem in signo altero.

In revolution, the time of changes of the signs based upon the profections’ sign are 28 days, 2 hours and about 18 minutes. Based upon the ascending hemisphere, that is, the one oriental, 28 days and about a fifth of a day. Solar months, on the other hand, rely on the changes of the Sun from the degree that held in the nativity to the exact degree in the following sign.

As I understand the text here, and by the comment upon the aphorism from Haly which Rumen K. Kolev has transliterated it in his translation of Lucas Gauricus – Three Annual Charts for Ferdinand I, is that the text actually speaks about 3 kinds of monthly revolutions. The one based upon logic of monthly profections, dividing the year 365.25 into 13 of 28 days, 2 hours and about 17-18 minutes. The other based upon the successive revolution of the SolarRevolution Ascendant in every subsequent year; and the third is that of the revolution of the Sun in every particular year, that is, drawing a chart for the exact moment when the Sun enters the same degree [in every following sign starting from the solar revolution] that held in the nativity and hence in the Solar Revolution. So if Sun in the nativity is in 5° 25′ Leo, then in the Solar Revolution would normally be there. Then the chart for the next month will be drawn for the exact moment when Sun enters 5° 25′ Virgo and so on.

I didn’t try the other two methods, but I am very excited using the first method, and combining it with the monthly profections divided by 13, just as Gauricus did in his analysis to the annual charts of Ferdinand I.

Thanks to the Astrologer Margherita Fiorello, I learned that the astrologers from Ciello e Terra use this same method too, so I read this interesting article by very good Italian Astrologer by name Mario Costantino, where he uses the same method in his analysis:

http://www.astrologiaclassica.it/content/della-previsione-dei-tempi-futuri-secondo-gli-antichi-il-caso-poggiolini-di-mario-costantino-giancarlo-ufficiale-roberto-riccio.html

Schoener in his De Iudiciis Nativitatum Libr. III [picture right],  and Lucas Gauricus in his Tractatus Iudicandi Conversiones Sive Revolutiones Nativitatum [picture left], gives tables about the same method:

Conserviones LunaeTabula Conservionum Menstruarum Lunae

Here is a modern table of this:

Modern Table of Moon Conversions

So what you are doing with this method, is that you start calculating from the hour of the Solar Revolution of the year.
For doing this more precisely, at least, when days are in question, you can use this useful web tool:

http://www.timeanddate.com/date/dateadd.html

So, when you find the time and day needed, you draw a chart for that moment. This would be your monthly revolution.

Delineating Monthly Revolution

What you would do when you look at this chart, is that you will first notice the Ruler of the Month, that is, the planet which rules the sign where the ascendant came by monthly profections. You will note its position by house, sign and the aspects this planet makes in that chart. You would also look at the Lord of the Year and its position and state. That is, you would not go in much details when you look at this chart, because we assume that you already done this by delineating the Solar Revolution and Annual Profections. This monthly chart only gives “triggers”. Although, one can not be surprised to see a pattern playing role in the monthly revolution as well. I try to stick with the “less is more” approach, and I would only notice that Mars as ruler of the year and of the month is in the monthly revolution 2nd, so I may expect some dissipation of substance [money] or something of that sort. If I look someone else’s chart, for that month I will note: “There is a risk for you to dissipate money in useless aims in this month”, than I will note that profected ascendant evolving 1° for 1 day in that month would make some square with the ruler of the 2nd and will note that those days are “days of particular crisis”.

That’s it! We do not want to go into details and mere guessing of little tiny details of the everyday life. Noting the general clime and some important issues is enough.

You would need to experiment with these revolutions and see how they work for you. Practice is everything. It is good to stick with certain approach for a while to see the results. Applying it on great deal of charts, will tell you whether the method is useful or useless. Nothing can be judged on one case alone.

Conclusion:

I want to make a note of caution here. I do not claim that Persian Astrology lacks practicality, nor I claim that Renaissance astrology is superior in practice then any other astrology prior. I  fear not to be understood wrongly because in the past months I presented Abu Ma’shar’s approach in delineating Solar Revolutions and now suddenly I speak about Renaissance Astrology. I still use Abu Ma’shar’s approach in delineating Solar Revolutions and I am satisfied with the results I am getting from this great astrologer’s approach. My curiosity led me to yet another masters of this art, like that of Cardan and Gauricus, just to see that their practice is not much away from the Persian practice. It is true that they rarely used the principle of Sect in their delineations, but all in all, their practice is based in great deal of the astrology developed by Perso-Arabian astrologers, and these on Hellenistic Astrologers. I am always curious to see “how the master did it”. Abu Ma’shar didn’t gave actual analysis of a Solar Revolution chart in the translated material we have from his work. Though, I was lucky enough to recognize that some of the astrologers today use his methods with  very great skill, knowledge and precision. I am not one of those who will be a worshiper of one astrologer only. I bear the fruit from all the great ones and incorporate them in my astrological practice, as I am presenting it here. This is why my blog has many sub-sections of Hellenistic, Perso-Arabian, Medieval and Renaissance astrology. I am in love in all of them.

Sources:

Lucas Gauricus – Three Annual Charts for Ferdinand I, transliterated and translated by Rumen K. Kolev, Varna 2012.

2 thoughts on “Dividing the Year into 13 monthly Revolutions

Leave a Reply

